Training - The Intramural Research Program of the National Institute on Drug Abuse

Skip Navigation

Office of Education and Career Development

Contact Us

251 Bayview Blvd.,
Room 2A641
Baltimore, MD 21224

Voice: (443) 740-2358

Fax: (443) 740-2859

Career Resources

Mentoring Resources

Writing Resources

Postdoctoral Programs for Prospective Fellows

Photo of the 2017-18 Postdoctoral Fellows
2017-18 Postdoctoral Fellows

Postdoctoral Intramural Research Training Award (IRTA) and Visting Fellows

Eligible U.S. citizens and permanent residents who have recently received a doctoral degree can come to the NIH as Postdoctoral IRTAs to complete up to five years of postdoctoral research. Eligible international scholars who are recent doctoral degree recipients can conduct up to five years of postdoctoral research at the NIH as Visiting Fellows; they generally come to the NIH on J1 visas.

Most postdoctoral candidates successfully find a position by directly contacting an investigator.  A list of NIDA Intramural Branches and Laboratories can be found here.  A list of NIDA investigators and a summary of their research interests can be found here.

Scientific Director Fellowship for Diversity in Research (SDFDR)

The Postdoctoral SDFDR program is the same as the Postdoctoral IRTA described above.  Application materials can be found at the SDFDR website.

Research Fellows

Postdoctoral fellows can be promoted to Research Fellow, an appointment that makes them NIH employees, albeit temporary. An individual can spend an additional three years as a Research Fellow after reaching the five-year limit of the Postdoctoral Fellow appointment.  Research Fellows are eligible for Intramural Loan Repayment.

OECD Navigation

Resources for
Prospective Postdocs

About Baltimore

Health and Human Services Logo National Institute on Drug Abuse Logo

The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the principal biomedical and behavioral research agency of the United States Government. NIH is a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader. Microsoft Word documents require the free Microsoft Word viewer. Microsoft PowerPoint documents require the free Microsoft PowerPoint viewer. Flash content requires the free Adobe Flash Player.